County Kildare, Ireland, One Of Your Own Has Passed Through The Pearly Gates

” A Pale Green Mermaid Blog “

They don’t make them like that anymore – he started out as a newspaper boy in Wilkesbarre PA. ending in the halls of congess, a lawyer like his role model Abraham Lincoln, working with Senator Byrd ” Get John Crawley,” he called out when they needed expert advice on negotationg  contracts for the Army.. But he was a true everyday man – if you needed help he was there –

Once I had my car stolen while I was working in Philly.  The police called that night round midnight and said we found it- here is the street where it is.  We made it down there-found the car but the starter was burned out.  John found a wire hanger in his old green van and fixed it up to jump start.  He said to me pop the clutch as I roll the car – it was a one shot deal. I popped the clutch as the car picked up speed and it started!!!

I could hear him saying “Don’t let it stall! ”  As he shook his head and smiled.  I cruised down to 95 nouth and was on my way home.

No, they don’t make them like that anymore.  I learned that night two things- what friendship was and that there was always a way – if… you had the will.

Peace and Merry X-mas Dad, or as you said as I drove into the driveway back home that night “Holy Christmas!”

John Joseph Crawley

1926-2016

 

=======================================

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

