Summer Lunch/Dinner

” A Pale Green Mermaid Blog “


fix a plate with
2 ears raw fresh picked corn (silks and all)
1 plate of popped corn, extra butter (3 for a dollar at dollar store!) drench in ketchup (try it you will like it) salt over top,
1 large limeade (take one lime, squeeze drop in cup, add 4 teas sugar, fill cup with ice, pour water over, stir. ( vodka optional)
1 bowl black cherry ice cream (in frig till needed)
Now take to garden or any spot of greenery with  head phones and walkman with Lillian Jackson Braun book on tape and chill out ( laughing optional)



Start at the beginning –

The Cat Who Could Read Backwards is the first novel in Lilian Jackson Braun’sThe Cat Who…” series, published in 1966.


Lilian Jackson Braun (June 20, 1913 – June 4, 2011[1]) was an American writer, well known for her light-hearted series of “The Cat Who…mystery novels. The “Cat Who” books center on the life of former newspaper reporter, James Qwilleran, and his two Siamese cats, Koko and Yum Yum, in the fictitious small town of Pickax located in Moose County “400 miles north of everywhere.

“The Cat Who…” novels

  1. The Cat Who Could Read Backwards (1966)
  2. The Cat Who Ate Danish Modern (1967)
  3. The Cat Who Turned On and Off (1968)
  4. The Cat Who Saw Red (1986) (Nominated for the 1987 Anthony Award and Edgar Award, Best Paperback Original)[6][7]
  5. The Cat Who Played Brahms (1987) (Nominated for the 1988 Anthony Award, Best Paperback Original)[6]
  6. The Cat Who Played Post Office (1987)
  7. The Cat Who Knew Shakespeare (1988)
  8. The Cat Who Sniffed Glue (1988)
  9. The Cat Who Went Underground (1989)
  10. The Cat Who Talked to Ghosts (1990)
  11. The Cat Who Lived High (1990)
  12. The Cat Who Knew a Cardinal (1991)
  13. The Cat Who Moved a Mountain (1992)
  14. The Cat Who Wasn’t There (1992)
  15. The Cat Who Went into the Closet (1993)
  16. The Cat Who Came to Breakfast (1994)
  17. The Cat Who Blew the Whistle (1995)
  18. The Cat Who Said Cheese (1996)
  19. The Cat Who Tailed a Thief (1997)
  20. The Cat Who Sang for the Birds (1999)
  21. The Cat Who Saw Stars (copyright, 1998; published, 1999)
  22. The Cat Who Robbed a Bank (2000)
  23. The Cat Who Smelled a Rat (2001)
  24. The Cat Who Went up the Creek (2002)
  25. The Cat Who Brought Down the House (2003)
  26. The Cat Who Talked Turkey (2004)
  27. The Cat Who Went Bananas (2005)
  28. The Cat Who Dropped a Bombshell (2006)
  29. The Cat Who Had 60 Whiskers (2007)
  30. The Cat Who Smelled Smoke (cancelled by publisher, Putnam)[8]

Short stories

  1. The Cat Who Had 14 Tales (1988)
  2. The Private Life of the Cat Who… (2003)
  3. Short and Tall Tales (2003)

Braun was awarded detective of the year from New York Times in 1966.



Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s