Fresh Food, The Price Of Vegetables And Bubble up Farmimg

” A Pale Green Mermaid Blog “

 

What is fresh?  Fresh is when you are standing behind a pickup truck and a farmer releases the latch and everyone dives for the biggest corn cobs  as they tumble and slide down onto the back of the truck.  Fresh is tomatoes in a huge basket being dumped on a cool wooden table under the shining sun – no two tomatoes ever looked alike …..What is fresh? When you  bite into a plum you just bought and the juice spurts and falls down your chin onto your crisp white top!

That’s fresh!

That has been my vegetable buying experience until 5 years ago -the combo of genetic engineering for perfectly shaped fruit at the loss of taste and nutrition and factory farming taking over too many small farms has changed all that.

 But last week I found a good stand where yes! they pulled up in a pick up truck as I arrived ! and the peaches are juicy, the corn sweet and tender- as I left the stand 2 workers got their dog ( who just happened to look exactly like my old dog pickle) to bring an ear of corn to me at my car, I looked over and they were leaning against the pickup laughing—that is bubble up farming!

 

We take control farmers and eaters join hands and complete the cycle of life love and eating!!! So search out the farm in your area and buy directly from him or her ,WE can and will keep the prices down that way, and keep the fun of food alive!!!!!!

Support your local Farmers they are so cool!

2 Comments

Filed under Bargains

2 responses to “Fresh Food, The Price Of Vegetables And Bubble up Farmimg

  1. I liked the description of the peaches and corn, fruits and veggies that fresh are wonderful. Makes me remember the peach juice dribbling down my chin as a kid. — Thanks Bill

  2. Hi, I think peaches are at their peak right now! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

