From ” Lotus Blossom Blues ” ( Working Title )

” A Pale Green Mermaid Blog “

 

She took the cross from my basket looking it over carefully, her eyes caught mine and searched for an answer. I felt the ruby burning a hole in my pocket.  She wrapped the cross back up in the protective rags and reached into my pockets.

I was frozen and embarrassed by the whole matter, but grateful that she merely returned the stone and never said another word about it to anyone at the camp.

Later in the excavation I had a private moment with her and began to explain how this mistake had happened. She waved her hand and said no more needed to be related about it since she had intrinsically sensed that I was not a thief at heart, merely desperate. She asked if I would like to go to the casbash with her for a cup of turkish coffee and that, was the ” beginning of a beautiful friendship ” as Rick once said many years before, in a cafe quite similar.

 _______________________

Have tremendously hilarious night!

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

