A Bloggers Tale Of Woe: Here Comes The Clowns Yeah Yeah The Rodeo Clowns Lift You Up When Your Down Yeah Yeah Yeah…I think I Just Invented The Rodeo Clown Boogie!!!

” A Pale Green Mermaid Blog “

  

 

So I was minding my own business working in my home office, I stood up from my computer to look for one of the endless passwords one needs to navigate the net on the shelves above with my favorite fountain pen in hand, when…

 

it started… of course I increased the volume on my bose from nonchalantly quiet to bombastically raucous and began to –

let loose, I mean DANCE and as the song whipped me into a frenzy of flailing arms, flying skirt and flicking fountain pen the boogie really picked up – not even when my pen was caught in my rather lengthy psuedo-indian skirt DID I STOP,

 

Now anyone who has seen the Mr. Pitt /Elaine – Seinfeld episode concerning fountain pens understands the dangers of flying ink pens… it was either stop dancing or grab the pen …

as the song disappeared into the speakers I was left with the aftermath…

 

ink smeared over my hands sucked into the fabric of my skirt and flayed across the base of my wood desk as I searched for the pen on hands and knees…

 

This post is  sent as warning to others writing the day away  – NO dancing with fountain pens in hand but do listen to  G Love and Special Sauce’s Rodeo Clowns W Jack Johnson!!!!! 

 

When you hit those afternoon doldrums slam it on – It does wonders!

 

Ciao!

 

( I’ll Never get this ink off my hands and the desk you can forget that!)

BHC / PGM

 

 

Image Courtesy Of Google

 

 

From Wikipedia,

Boogie

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

This article is about the musical technique or rhythm. For other uses, see Boogie (disambiguation).

Blues shuffle or boogie played on guitar in E major[1] (About this sound Play (help·info)).

Boogie is a repetitive, swung note or shuffle rhythm,[2] “groove” or pattern used in blues which was originally played on the piano in boogie-woogie music. The characteristic rhythm and feel of the boogie was then adapted to guitar, double bass, and other instruments. The earliest recorded boogie-woogie song was in 1916. By the 1930s, Swing bands such as Glenn Miller, Tommy Dorsey, and Louis Jordan all had boogie hits. By the 1950s, boogie became incorporated into the emerging rockabilly and rock and roll styles. In the late 1980s and the early 1990s country bands released country boogies.

History The boogie was originally played on the piano in boogie-woogie music and adapted to guitar. Boogie-woogie is a “style of blues piano playing characterized by an up-tempo rhythm, a repeated melodic pattern in the bass, and a series of improvised variations in the treble.”[3] Boogie woogie developed from a piano style that developed in the rough barrelhouse bars in the Southern states, where a piano player performed for the hard-drinking patrons. Wayne Schmidt remarks that with boogie-woogie songs, the “bass line isn’t just a time keeper or ‘fill’ for the right hand”; instead, the bassline has equal importance to the right hand’s melodic line. He argues that many boogie-woogie basslines uses a “rising/falling sequence of notes” called a walking bass line. [4]

The origin of the term boogie-woogie is unknown, according to Webster’s Third New International Dictionary. The Oxford English Dictionary states that the word is a redoubling of boogie, which was used for rent parties as early as 1913. The term may be derived from Black West African English, from the Sierra Leone term bogi”, which means “to dance”; as well, it may be akin to the phrase “hausa buga”, which means “to beat drums.”[3] In the late 1920s and early 1930s, the term “could mean anything from a racy style of dance to a raucous party or to a sexually transmitted disease.”[5] In Peter Silvester’s book on boogie woogie, Left Hand Like God — the Story of Boogie Woogie he states that, in 1929, “boogie-woogie is used to mean either dancing or music in the city of Detroit.”[6]

 

Well who knew? But I found a dance reference in there…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

