Poem – ” My Cross To Wear “

” A Pale Green Mermaid Blog “

  

MY CROSS TO WEAR

  

My cross to wear is this love –

that I cannot get rid of

it sits and waits

for me to loose my gait

slow down and feel

it is my cross to wear, to bear

 

sometimes I just stare.

 

( I’m in love with the Iceman…)

 

 

 

Pre-Raphaelite paintimg of Ophelia

Example of a typical Pre-Raphaelite Painting: Ophelia, 1851-52. John Everett Millais (1829-1896). Oil on canvas, 1105 x 1458 x 145 mm. Tate Britain, London, UK.

FROM WIKIPEDIA  – Hamlet – by Shakespeare

In Act 4 Scene 7, Queen Gertrude, in her monologue (There is a willow grows aslant the brook), reports that Ophelia had climbed into a willow tree, and then a branch broke and dropped Ophelia into the brook, where she drowned. Gertrude says that Ophelia appeared “incapable of her own distress”. Gertrude’s announcement of Ophelia’s death has been praised as one of the most poetic death announcements in literature.[9]

 

Shakespeare still speaks to us today…

  

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

