New Music Alert – Radio 104.5 Philly, Jack Johnson, G-Love And Special Sauce and Blue October

” A Pale Green Mermaid Blog “

 

This station I have watched grow into a nice network for listeners and new music and artists, and they keep getting better and better with a focus on the MUSIC and listeners.

 

The DJ’s, one and all are cool and kind, a great combo!

But something is happening, there is a momentum building, so If you  care about new music and changing the world take a listen.  

They have fabulous versions of songs and Acoustic Sunday along with their in house Studio show and New music shows create a virtual coffee house, like in the old beatnik days…you know the beat generation… Jack Kerouac and all that rot.

 

Here are some recent gems-

 

Song   Rocky Racoon by Beatles     Covered by  Jack Johnson ( he keeps popping up on my fav tunes)

Now somewhere in the black mountain hills
of Dakota there lived a young boy named
Rocky Raccoon and one day his woman ran off
with another guy!
Hit young Rocky in the eye Rocky didn’t like that!
He said I’m gonna get that boy!
So one day he walked into town!
Booked himself a room in the local saloon.
Rocky Raccoon checked into his room
only to find Gideon’s bible!
Rocky had come equipped with a gun
to shoot off the legs of his rival!
His rival it seems had broken his dreams
by stealing the girl of his fancy!
Her name was Magil and she called herself Lil!
But everyone knew her as Nancy.
Now she and her man who called himself Dan
were in the next room at the hoe down.
Rocky burst in and grinning a grin!
He said Danny boy this is a showdown!
But Daniel was hot, he drew first and shot
and Rocky collapsed in the corner!
Now the doctor came in stinking of gin
and proceeded to lie on the table.
He said Rocky you met your match
and Rocky said, Doc it’s only a scratch!
And I’ll be better I’ll be better
doc as soon as I am able!
Now Rocky Raccoon he fell back in his room
only to find Gideon’s bible!
Gideon checked out and he left it no doubt
to help with good Rocky’s revival.

 

BAND   G Love And Special Sauce    SONG   Rodeo Clowns

(Written by Jack Johnson surfer/singer/songwriter – written after riding waves with a friend, oo la la I think I am in love, musically that is!)

Come on
Sweepin’ the floors
Open up the doors yeah
Turn on the lights
Gettin’ ready for the night
Nobody’s romancin’
Cause it’s too early for dancin’
But here comes the music

Bright lights flashin’
To cover of your liquor
So many people, so many powers,
So many reasons to buy another round drink it down
Just another night on the town
With the big man, money man better than the other man
He got the plan with the million dollars
Give a damn but
When nobody understands
He’ll become a smaller man
The bright lights keep flashing
Man the women keep on dancin’

With the clowns yeah, yeah, yeah
Pick me up when I’m down yeah, yeah
Rodeo clowns yeah, yeah, yeah
Pick me up when I’m down

The disco ball spinning
All the music and the women
And the shots of tequila
Man they’ll say that they need ya
But what they really need
Is just a little room to breathe
Teeny bopping disco queen
She barely understands her dreams
Of belly button rings
And other kinds of things
Symbolic of change
But the thing that is strange
Is that changes occurred

And now she’s just a part of the herd yeah, yeah, yeah
Man I thought that you heard yeah, yeah
The changes occur yeah, yeah, yeah
She’s just a part of the herd yeah, yeah

Lights out shut down
Late night wet ground
You walk by, look at him but he can’t look at you yeah
You might feel pity but he only feels the ground because
You understand moods
But he only knows let down
By the corner there’s another one
Reaching out a hand
Coming from a broken man
Well you try to live
But he’s done trying
Not dead but definitely dying

With the rest of the clowns yeah, yeah, yeah
Pick me up when I’m down yeah, yeah
Rodeo clowns yeah, yeah
Pick me up when I’m down

Sweeping the floors
Open up the doors yeah
Turn on the lights
Getting ready for the night
Nobody’s romancing ’cause it’s too early for dancin’
But here comes the music

 

Band  BLUE OCTOBER     Song   SHOULD BE LOVED

( The In house set they did on 104.5 was amazing)

 

Stop staring, you’re the reason I feel so unhappy all the time
I’ve given you everything I know how
Your standing on the top of my shoe
keeping me from gaining ground
I’m sorry if you feel like I let you down

Can you tell me what have I done so wrong
To you
Tell me what am I supposed to do

“I should be loved by you,
That I know is true
But I cant breathe when you’re around!”

“I should be held at night
That I know is right
But I cant breathe when you’re around!”

You’re too scared,
Scared of all of it …I get that feeling I’m talking to the wall
Can you hear me at all
My world was shaking my mind was quaking, my heart kept breaking
I threw it against the wall
Can anyone feel me at all

Can you tell me what have I done so wrong… to you
Tell me what am I supposed to do
I got a feeling, you’re falling out of love with me
Tell me who am I supposed to be

“I should be loved by you
That I know is true
I can’t breathe when you’re around!”

“I should be held at night
That I know is right
I cant breathe when you’re around!!
Look I can’t breath!”

 

FROM WIKIPEDIA BELOW,

Jack Johnson
Background information
Birth name Jack Hody Johnson
Born May 18, 1975 (1975-05-18) (age 34)
Origin North Shore, Oahu, Hawaii
Genres Acoustic
Soft rock
Pop rock
Occupations Singer-songwriter, musician, filmmaker, surfer, record label owner
Instruments Vocals, guitar, ukulele, piano, drums
Years active 1999–present
Labels Everloving/Brushfire/Universal
Website jackjohnsonmusic.com

 

 

G. Love & Special Sauce
Background information
Origin Philadelphia, Pennsylvania,
United States
Genres Alternative hip-hop
Blues
R&B
Years active 1992–present
Labels Brushfire Records
550 Music
Members
Garrett Dutton
Jeffrey Clemens
Mark Boyce
Timo Shanko
Former members
Jimi Prescott

 

 

Blue October
Origin Houston, Texas, USA
Genres Alternative rock
Post-grunge
Experimental rock
Indie Rock
Bipolar Art Rock[1](As cited by Justin Furstenfield)
Years active 1995-present
Labels RoDan Entertainment/Scoop
Brando Records
Universal Records
Associated acts (a+)machines, Canvas, The Last Wish, Julian Mandrake
Website www.blueoctober.com
Members
Justin Furstenfeld
Ryan Delahoussaye
Jeremy Furstenfeld
Matt Noveskey
C.B. Hudson
Former members
Liz Mullally
Piper Skih
Brant Coulter
Julian Mandrake
Dwayne Casey

 

 

www.radio104.5.com

I hear a special announcement is coming on Monday At 8am??A concert?

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a Reply

