Poem – Sparrows

 

SPARROWS

Sitting in my garden

two sparrows flew by barely clipping my nose

I almost rose

below resting on my freshly de-crisped newspaper

was –

a gift

left by two travellers in a world of light and air

I touched the gift and had to stare

five fragile dry blades of grass

I was aghast

perfect nesting material

yet it was lightly dropped in my lap

two travellers saying hello and wishing me well

In a world often fiiled with endless pell mell…

Two travellers, wishing us all well.

        

1 Comment

Filed under Poetry

One response to “Poem – Sparrows

  1. A very sweet poem…I have humming birds that will buzz me when I fail to refill their feeder…on several occasions they have stopped just in front of my nose..staring at me as if to say..”Did you forget something?” I of course refill quickly…I can take a hint. 🙂 Enjoyed your poem.

Leave a Reply

