Analytical Thinking And Sherlock Holmes

” A Pale Green Mermaid Blog”

 

“How often have I said to you that when you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth?   Sherlock Holmes to Watson. From “The Sign of Four”

 

In these days of false information being promulgated as fact, it is wise to take the time and think about how to come to a conclusion, how to think analytically and deduce fact from fiction.

I have always reminded myself of the quote above when I am at an impasse in my reasoning, and it has shown me a way to clarify and finalize my assumptions.

Another quote,

“It seemed to me that a careful examination of the room and the lawn might possibly reveal some traces of this mysterious individual. You know my methods, Watson. There was not one of them which I did not apply to the inquiry. And it ended by my discovering traces, but very different ones from those which I had expected.”          Sherlock Holmes from ‘The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes”


Always look carefully at what someone is saying their tone, where they choose to speak, and whom they choose to speak to.

An example of the tone can be seen when Sarah Palin recently gave her opinion on  the so called “death panels” as being “evil” , even if I did not know that the death panel slogan was never used in the health care bill, I would question the usage of the term evil and suspect that the speaker was trying to engender a strong reaction in me, rather than state their opposing case or opinion.

As Sherlock Holmes says, look carefully at what is being said to find “the traces” the subtle signals that we all give out as human beings.

 

And finally have no presupposed conclusions  – think with an open view and if a surprising element shows itself you will not dismiss it. 

Then you will be able to say to your friends as they wonder at your impeccable perceptions on life , “It is quite elementary my dear Watson!”

 

Peace

 

Basil Rathbone

from the trailer for the film Tovarich (1937)
Born Philip St. John Basil Rathbone
13 June 1892(1892-06-13)
Johannesburg, South African Republic
Died 21 July 1967 (aged 75)
New York City, USA
Years active 19211967
Spouse(s) Marion Foreman (1914-1926)
Ouida Bergère (1926-1967)

Basil Rathbone, MC (13 June 1892 – 21 July 1967), was a South African-born British actor most famous for his portrayal of Sherlock Holmes.       Image from Wikipedia

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, reflect - change the world.

Leave a Reply

